Sequoyah Book Award

  • SEQUOYAH WINNER ANNOUNCED!
     
    Winner of the 2016 Sequoyah Young Adult Award Winner is
    Students in grades 6-8 selected Good Bye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell as the winner in the Intermediate category. Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.
     
       
                                                     
      Image result for Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell
     Image Credit: http://www.goodreads.com/

    Sequoyah Intermediate Masterlist

    2017 
    1. The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

    2. The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

    3. El Deafo by Cece Bell

    4. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

    5. Girl on a Wire by Gwenda Bond

    6. There Will Be Bears by Ryan Gebhart

    7. Treaties, Trenches, Mud, and Blood by Nathan Hale

    8. The Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holczer

    9. Stitching Snow by R. C. Lewis

    10. Love and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan

    11. Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky

    12. Jackaby by William Ritter

    13. Saving Lucas Biggs by Marisa de los Santos and David Teague

    14. Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights by Steve Sheinkin

    15. A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman
     
    Students must read at least three of these titles to be able to vote for the winning book.