Curriculum - Social Studies

 
Social Studies Websites
 
The websites listed below offer numerous classroom resources such as lesson plans, original documents, technology-based activities, authentic assessments, etc.  You will also find links to our professional organizations which offer an abundance of resources for teachers.
 

Professional Organizations

Website

National Council for the Social Studies http://www.ncss.org                           
Oklahoma Council for the Social Studies    http://www.okcss.org
National Council for Geographic Education    http://www.ncge.org
Oklahoma Alliance for Geographic Education  http://www.okageweb.org
National Geographic Society
National Council for History Education http://www.nche.net
Association of American Geographers http://www.aag.org 
Oklahoma Council for Economic Education http://www.occe-ok.org
Law-Related Education http://www.okbar.org/public/lre/default.htm
Oklahoma State Department of Education http://www.sde.state.ok.us/
 

History Resources

Website

Power Point Palooza http://www.pptpalooza.net/
Mr. Donn's Social Studies http://www..mrdonn.org/
APUSH PowerPoints http://www.wisd.us/whs/social_studies/acantu/apush/apush_ppts.htm
AP US History Question of the Day http://faculty.polytechnic.org/gfeldmeth/USHistory.html
History Teacher Net http://www.historyteacher.net/
History Resources http://www.educationindex.com/history/
Historic Maps http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/map_sites/hist_sites.html
Multiple Presentations http://www.jc-schools.net/PPTs-socst.html
American Revolution http://edtech.kennesaw.edu/web/amrevol.html
Revolutionary War http://www.theteacherscorner.net/thematicunits/revolutionary-war.php
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History http://www.gilderlehrman.org/
PJ Apple's Social Studies Bookmarks http://www.delicious.com/pjapple/socialstudies?page=11
Smithsonian Institution http://www.americanhistory.si.edu/
Oregon Trail http://www.blm.gov/or/oregontrail/education-teachers-packets.php
The Constitution http://government.pppst.com/constitution.html
Constitiution Amendments http://government.pppst.com/amendments.html
US History 1450-1871 http://www.cusd.chico.k12.ca.us/~jnash/united_states_history.htm
American Memory-Library of Congress http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
Library of Congress Online Exhibits http://www.loc.gov/exhibits
AP European History http://teachers.sduhsd.k12.ca.us/gstimson/APEurolinks.htm
Best of History Web Site http://www.besthistorysites.net/
American Civil War http://www.americancivilwar.com
Racial Satire and the Civil War http://xroads.virginia.edu/~CAP/SCARTOONS/cartoons.html
Civil War http://www.eighthfloor.org/academy/glawrence/focu.html
Cold War Documents http://www.mtholyoke.edu/acad/intrel/coldwar.htm
Digital History http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu
Tooning into History http://nieonline.com/aaec/cftc.cfm?cftcfeature=history
Federal Resources of Excellence http://www.free.ed.gov/HandSS.cfm
Freedom Documents http://www.gpschools.org/ci/ce/elem/fifth/ss5/freedom.htm
Global History http://www2.maxwell.syr.edu/plegal/tips/productsghppa5.html
National Archives http://www.archives.gov/education/
US Dept. of State-Historian Office http://history.state.gov/education/modules
Celebrate Oklahoma http://lc.celebrateoklahoma.us/video
Oklahoma History http://www.okcss.org/photo_collection.htm
Oklahoma History http://www.okcss.org/centennial_corner.htm
Oklahoma History http://www.eighthfloor.org/academy/lnymeyer/curricul.htm
History of Oklahoma http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~oknowata/OklaHist.htm
Oklahoma History 2 http://www.ba.k12.ok.us/schools/nihs/mediacenter/okhis.htm
Oklahoma Historical Society http://www.okhistory.org/
Oklahoma History Center http://www.okhistorycenter.org/
Oklahoma Atlas http://www.okatlas.org/
Oklahoma Capitol Art Work http://www.arts.ok.gov/capitolart/permart.html
U.S. Holocaust Museum http://www.ushmm.org
Power Points U.S. Since 1877 http://www.rsu.edu/faculty/phatley/powerpoints.htm
Social Sciences http://www.ginaotto.com/socialstudiesamer.html
Lesson Plans and Resources http://www.csun.edu/~hcedu013/index.html
Grade 8 Social Studies Library http://www.kidport.com/Grade8/SocialStudies/SocStudiesIndex.htm
Grade 5 Social studies Library http://www.kidport.com/Grade5/SocialStudies/SocStudiesIndex.htm
Social Studies Library http://www.kidport.com/RefLib/SocialStudies.htm
The History Place http://www.historyplace.com/index.html
Yahoo History Directory http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/History/
United States History http://www.snowcrest.net/jmike/ushist.html
US History Power Points http://www.madison.k12.ky.us/ms/departments/socialstudies/uspowerpoints.htm
The Biography Channel http://www.biography.com
Black History http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/BHM/index.html
The History Channel http://www.thehistorychannel.com
PBS Resources and Video Collections http://www.pbs.org
History through Art--National Gallery http://www.nga.gov/education/american/aasplash.htm
History of Asian-Americans http://www.asian-nation.org/
The World and I http://www.worldandi.com/
Teaching with Historic Places http://www.nps.gov/history/nr/twhp/
Major World History Eras http://www.scholiast.org/history/
World History and Cuiltures http://www.historylink101.com/
High School U.S. History http://historymatters.gmu.edu/
Think Quest-for students by students http://www.thinkquest.org/pls/html/think.library
Native American Culture http://www.globalthinkinginc.com/nativeculture/
World and American History http://www.historycentral.com/
5th Grade/4th Geography http://www.internet4classrooms.com/5thSocSt.htm
Colonial Williamsburg http://www.history.org/
Mount Vernon
Virtual Tour
Social Studies Library http://www.sldirectory.com/teachf/socsci.html#government
 

Geography

Website

6th Geography http://www.internet4classrooms.com/6thSocSt.htm
Geography Websites http://www.kathimitchell.com/geog.htm
Geography Games http://www.quia.com/pages/all.html
PJ Apple's Social Studies Bookmarks http://www.delicious.com/pjapple/socialstudies?page=11
Geography Games and More http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/
Geography Power Points http://www.pppst.com/geography.html
Maptext http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/maptext_n2/maptext.html

Lessons from Discovery School

http://school.discoveryeducation.com/lessonplans/geog.html

World Mapper http://www.sasi.group.shef.ac.uk/worldmapper/index.html
Nation Master http://www.nationmaster.com/index.php
State Master http://www.statemaster.com/index.php
Satellite Images http://geology.com/
Online Map Games http://www.maps.com/FunFacts.aspx?nav=FF#
Lessons and Resources http://www.cloudnet.com/~edrbsass/edgeography.htm
Lessons and Strategies http://www.csun.edu/~hcedu013/plans.html
 

Government

Website

Lesson Plans & 
Interactive Games & Activities
http://www.mrdonn.org/government.html
Government Lesson Plans from Techmology http://www.teach-nology.com/teachers/lesson_plans/history/government/
Elections and Voting Lessons http://www.teach-nology.com/teachers/lesson_plans/history/voting/
Dirkson Congressional Center http://www.congresslink.org/print_lp_contents.htm
Our Courts by Justice Sandra Day O'Connor http://www.ourcourts.org/default.php
The Constitution http://government.pppst.com/constitution.html
 
 
Terms of Use | TRUSTe Approved Privacy Policy