Skip To Main Content
TOY Graphic

MOORE, Okla. (Nov. 1, 2022) ­— Moore Public Schools announced the 2022-2023 Teachers of the Year, each representing their current school site. Teachers of the Year (TOY) are nominated by their peers in September of each school year, with results available in mid-fall. Each school TOY is then invited to complete Part One of the District TOY application during October & November.

Five finalists for the MPS District TOY will be announced just after winter break and after which time they will complete Part Two of the MPS District TOY application. In April, the MPS District Teacher of the Year winner is announced at the annual Moore Public Schools Excellence in Education Ceremony. This ceremony also honors the accomplishments of each site-level TOY and the five finalists for District TOY.

The MPS site Teachers of the Year for 2022-2023 are:


Elementary Schools

Apple Creek: Tracy Hayes, 3rd grade

Briarwood: Gina Yoder, 4th grade Math

Broadmoore: Dianne Vangundy-Babb, 5th grade ELA

Bryant: Keri Thompson, Kindergarten

Central: Sam Canaday, Pre-K Special Education  

Earlywine: Aimee Ballenger, 2nd grade

Eastlake: Eden Fatkin, 2nd grade

Fairview: Alleah Herrin, 3rd grade

Fisher: Heather Kovach, 5th grade Math/Science

Heritage Trails: Theresa Mosier, Media Specialist

Houchin: Katelyn Tanner, Kindergarten

Kelley: Dylan Wise, 6th grade Reading/Social Studies

Kingsgate: Kathryn Scruggs, 3rd grade

Northmoor: Rebecca Birckett, 1st grade

Oakridge: Sharon Moore, Librarian

Plaza Towers: Megan Williams, 1st grade

Red Oak: Kaylie McAllister, 4th grade Math

Santa Fe: Rachel Loop, Functional, K-3

Sky Ranch: Elizabeth Holt, Librarian/Media Specialist

Sooner: Judith Osborn, 3rd grade

South Lake: Heather Anderson, Special Education, K-2

Southgate: Holli Warner, 4th grade Math

Timber Creek: Amanda Evershed, 2nd grade

Wayland Bonds: Janice Walker, 5th grade Math

Winding Creek: Emily Taylor, 3rd grade


Junior High Schools

Brink: Ashley Rice, 7th & 8th grade English

Central: Norman Crowe, 7th grade Science

Highland East: Lisa Nelson, 8th grade STEM

Highland West: Rocky Dickinson, 7th grade STEM

Moore West: Emily Howsden, 8th grade Language Arts/Yearbook

Southridge: Maranda Montgomery, 7th & 8th grade Physical Education

 High Schools

Moore: Deena Dina, grade 11th & 12th Science

Southmoore: Lisa Roberts, Business Education

Westmoore: Daniel Dumbleton, Special Education

Vista Academies: Jon Owen, High School Sciences

To review past MPS Teachers of the Year visit here. To see open teaching positions in Moore Public Schools visit our Personnel page or call 405-735-4200.