Skip To Main Content
TOY Graphic

Moore Public Schools announced the 2023-2024 Teachers of the Year, each representing their current school site. Teachers of the Year (TOY) are nominated by their peers in September of each school year, with results available in mid-fall. Each school TOY is then invited to complete Part One of the District TOY application during October & November.

Five finalists for the MPS District TOY will be announced just after winter break, after which time they will complete Part Two of the MPS District TOY application. In April, the MPS District Teacher of the Year winner is announced at the annual Moore Public Schools Excellence in Education Ceremony. This ceremony also honors the accomplishments of each site-level TOY and the five finalists for District TOY.

The MPS site Teachers of the Year for 2023-2024 are:

Elementary Schools

Apple Creek: Danielle Kennedy, 2nd grade

Briarwood: Jamie Sweet, 2nd grade

Broadmoore: Julie Hayes, 6th grade, Reading

Bryant: Elizabeth Gonzalez, 3rd grade

Central: Ashleigh Adams, 5th grade, Science  

Earlywine: Shyan Stallings, 2nd grade

Eastlake: Britton Vanbuskirk, 6th grade, ELA

Fairview: Rachel Alvarez, 1st grade

Fisher: Taylor Schall, K-6th grade, STEAM

Heritage Trails: Sally Russell, 5th grade, Science

Houchin: Rachel Drake, 6th grade

Kelley: Candace Western, K-6th grade, Strive Counselor

Kingsgate: Arica Dick, 5th grade, Science/Social Studies

Northmoor: Emily Humphrey, K-2nd, Special Education

Oakridge: Angela McKenna, Speech Pathologist

Plaza Towers: Stephanie Fruits, 1st-2nd grade, Special Education

Red Oak: Kelsey Dawson, 3rd grade

Santa Fe: Rachel Owens, 3rd-4th, Special Education

Sky Ranch: Lissette Jurado, Speech Pathologist

Sooner: Autumn Rogers, STEAM

South Lake: Taylor Woodard, 5th grade, Reading/Lang

Southgate: Rebecca Linger, 1st grade

Timber Creek: Julie Barnard, Special Education

Wayland Bonds: Chance Mueller, 5th grade, Science

Winding Creek: Kathleen Pelley, Kindergarten


Junior High Schools

Brink: Freedom Terrell, 8th grade, Pre-Algebra/ Honors Alg. I

Central: Jarred Turner, 8th grade, U.S. History

Highland East: Weston Mize, 8th grade, Reading

Highland West: Shain Baldwin, 7th-8th grade, Band

Moore West: Allison Lance, 8th grade, Science

Southridge: Maggie Howe, 7th grade, Honors Pre-Algebra


High Schools

Moore: Shaista Fenwick, 12th grade, English

Southmoore: Bridgett Cai, 10th grade, World History

Westmoore: Jana DeLong, Yearbook

VISTA Academy: Tamara Miller, 9-12th, Social Studies/Art/ Newspaper/Yearbook

To review past MPS Teachers of the Year visit here. To see open teaching positions in Moore Public Schools visit our Human Resources page or call 405-735-4200.