Skip To Main Content
OSSM Honors Moore Educators

Congratulations, Moore High Choir Director Lynn Herbel, Westmoore Career Counselor Sharee Ferguson, and Southmoore AP Calculus Teacher Michelle Hurt! Former MPS students who attend the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics (OSSM) Ranee Nettey, Jocelyn Hoang, and Ojas Lakhotia nominated their former teachers for the 2024 OSSM Inspiring Teacher Awards!

They were among 45 teachers from across Oklahoma who were honored during the 29th Annual OSSM Teacher Appreciation Day. OSSM Pres. Tony Cornforth read from the student nominations as teachers were honored, and Sen. Adam Pugh (Dist. 41) encouraged the students and thanked all of the teachers for the important work they do.

About OSSM: OSSM was created by the Oklahoma state legislature in 1983 to provide an advanced education in science and mathematics for its residents. As a state agency, OSSM is funded by the Oklahoma legislature as well as through donations from generous supporters through the OSSM Foundation. Students who are Okla. residents pay nothing for tuition, fees, and room and board. Learn more at