Skip To Main Content
2023 Teacher of the Year Keri Thompson

The Moore Public Schools Foundation held its annual Excellence in Education awards ceremony on April 11 at Southmoore High School. Dozens of employees and community partners were recognized as site-level 2023-24 Teachers of the Year, and the five District Finalists for 2024 Teacher of the Year were honored, along with the school site Patrons of the Year. The National Anthem was performed by the SHS Instrumental Ensemble directed by Adam Mewhorter.  

MPSF Board Pres. MaKailee George and Board Member Cathy Lowe led the program with assistance from MPSF Executive Director Lizzy Bozarth and Social Studies Curriculum Coordinator David Burton. MPS Superintendent Dr. Robert Romines welcomed the guests and nominees and spoke of how inspired he is by their work and dedication to the district and MPS students.

South Lake Elementary 5th-grade teacher Taylor Woodard was named the 2024 District Teacher of the Year. She received the award from the 2023 District Teacher of the Year, Bryant Elementary Teacher Keri Thompson. 

"I believe that students should enjoy coming to school, so creating experiences for them where they are able to have an active part of their learning are the core memories students remember from their school years," said Woodard.

"I hope my colleagues see that I'm someone who supports and encourages them and cheers them on to success because we are a team and we're stronger together," she continued. 

Her parents’ careers inspired Woodard in education to continue the work of positively impacting students. She is passionate about engaging students in learning and equipping other educators for success. Highly active in professional organizations she leads professional development workshops and creates resources for teachers and students across Oklahoma.

Woodard will represent MPS in the Oklahoma State Teacher of the Year process and will serve as an ex-officio board member of the MPS Foundation during the 2024-25 school year. 

Additionally, Technology AV Tech II Corey Huff was named the 2024 District Educational Support Professional of the Year. Watch his video here: 

Sen. Darrell Weaver attended the program to congratulate each of the winners as he presented them with commendations from his office.

Orr Nissan Central representatives Ryan Ezell and Brandon Wheeler were present. Wheeler - a Westmoore 2004 graduate - spoke on the important role that all teachers play in growing an educated community. They honored Woodard with a $2,000 check as this year's winner and told her she has a new 2024 Nissan Rogue to drive during the fall semester. Additionally, Orr Nissan Central honored Huff with a $1,000 financial gift for winning the 2024 ESP of the Year. 

Armstrong Bank presented Thompson with a $1,000 scholarship for continued education or professional development. The MPS Foundation provided the finalists with $500 awards and $1,000 for the winner. Additional event sponsors were Armstrong Bank, T.N.T Print, Randall's Temperature Control, OEC Electric & Fiber and Dillingham Insurance.  


Shain Baldwin, Highland West -

Jana DeLong, Westmoore High School -

Shai Fenwick, Moore High School -

Jarred Turner, Central Junior High -

Taylor Woodard, South Lake Elementary -



Apple Creek Elementary - Danielle Kennedy

Briarwood Elementary - Jamie Sweet

Broadmoore Elementary - Julie Hayes

Bryant Elementary - Elizabeth Gonzalez

Central Elementary - Ashleigh Adams

Earlywine Elementary - Shyan Stallings

Eastlake Elementary - Britton VanBuskirk

Fairview Elementary - Rachel Alvarez

Fisher Elementary - Taylor Schall

Heritage Trails Elementary - Sally Russell

Houchin Elementary - Rachel Drake

Kelley Elementary - Candace Western

Kingsgate Elementary - Arica Dick

Northmoor Elementary - Emily Humphrey

Oakridge Elementary - Angela McKenna

Plaza Towers Elementary - Stephanie Fruits

Red Oak Elementary - Kelsey Dawson

Santa Fe Elementary - Rachel Owens

Sky Ranch Elementary - Lissette Jurado

Sooner Elementary - Autumn Rogers

South Lake Elementary - Taylor Woodard

Southgate Elementary - Rebecca Linger

Timber Creek Elementary - Julie Barnard

Wayland Bonds Elementary - Chance Mueller

Winding Creek Elementary - Kathleen Pelley


Brink Junior High - Freedom Terrell

Central Junior High - Jarred Turner

Highland East Junior High - Weston Mize

Highland West Junior High - Shain Baldwin

Moore West Junior High - Allison Lance

Southridge Junior High - Maggie Howe


Moore High School - Shaista Fenwick

Southmoore High School - Bridgett Cai

Westmoore High School - Jana DeLong

Vista Academies - Tamara Miller



Apple Creek Elementary - Mayra Franco

Briarwood Elementary - Christy Yarger

Broadmoore Elementary - Regina Brown

Bryant Elementary - Stephanie Miller

Central Elementary - Michelle Cerda

Earlywine Elementary - Lindsay Gill

Eastlake Elementary - Kimberly Kiker

Fairview Elementary - Hannah Rose

Fisher Elementary - Lora Bourlier

Heritage Trails Elementary - Jordan Hutchinson

Houchin Elementary - Jill White

Kelley Elementary - Sherry Hawkins

Kingsgate Elementary - Codey Crawford

Northmoor Elementary - Bailey Hatchell

Oakridge Elementary - Loti Hooten

Plaza Towers Elementary - Angela Rios

Red Oak Elementary - Anita Hagerman

Santa Fe Elementary - Sonia Garcia

Sky Ranch Elementary - Holly Dale

Sooner Elementary - Dianne Jeffries

South Lake Elementary - Heather Seabolt

Southgate Elementary - Bailey Bryant

Timber Creek Elementary - Breanna Rodgers

Wayland Bonds Elementary - Ann Dusenberry

Winding Creek Elementary - Samuel Agnitsch


Brink Junior High - Tara Fischer

Central Junior High - Lydia Dutton

Highland East Junior High - Kayla Hyden

Highland West Junior High - Calvin Hill

Moore West Junior High - Kelley Stover

Southridge Junior High - LaDonna Cobb


Moore High School - Suzanne Guthmiller

Southmoore High School - Tammy Lonsbury

Westmoore High School - Donna Blackwell

Vista Academies - Teresa Lowry


Administration Services Center - Clifford Corey

Child Nutrition Center - Erin Sandini

Maintenance Department - Gene James

Student Information - Sandra Wietelman

Technology Center - Corey Huff

Transportation Department - Linda Wallace




Apple Creek Elementary - Sarah Butler

Briarwood Elementary - Silver Leaf Animal Hospital

Broadmoore Elementary - Brandy McCoy

Bryant Elementary - Cross Church of Norman & Daniel Kitchel, Lead Pastor

Central Elementary - Evans Insurance Agency & Jordan Evans, Owner

Earlywine Elementary - Sarah Helms

Eastlake Elementary - Lynne Marks

Fairview Elementary - Bethesda Church 

Fisher Elementary - Staci Evans

Heritage Trails Elementary - Natalie Baker

Houchin Elementary - Stephanie Hall

Kelley Elementary - Regency Park Baptist Church 

Kingsgate Elementary - Rhonda Simpson

Northmoor Elementary - Colton Humphrey and Mark Lemon

Oakridge Elementary - Bridgette Listen

Plaza Towers Elementary - Tara Blevins

Red Oak Elementary - Jocelyn Gross Wilson

Santa Fe Elementary - Wenesday Traylor

Sky Ranch Elementary - Nikki Castillo

Sooner Elementary - Tierny McDonald

South Lake Elementary - Greg & Karen Moore

Southgate Elementary - Southgate Baptist Church

Timber Creek Elementary - “Pops” Gerald Breeden and James Ellison

Wayland Bonds Elementary - Kristen Campbell

Winding Creek Elementary - Michael Hinderman and Pete Rustin


Brink Junior High - Courtney Fincher

Central Junior High - Cornerstone Baptist Church

Highland East Junior High - Julie Gardner

Highland West Junior High - Debbie Korff

Moore West Junior High - Sprouts & Billy Saunders, Manager

Southridge Junior High - Marie Cash


Moore High School - Christy Ellis

Southmoore High School - Kristi Pitt

Westmoore High School - Steve Cerney

Vista Academies - Dusty Treat


To see open teaching positions in Moore Public Schools visit our employment page or call 405-735-4000.